Deleting or changing user information in Active Directory

Included in this article:

  1. About Active Directory
  2. Making changes to a users information
  3. Deleting or blocking a user 
  4. Where to find blocked users 

 

1- About Active directory

Active directory is a tool organisations have to manage employee information. It typically has a manager within the business who's task it is to keep it correct and up to date - this is most likely your point of contact for changes and updates to users.

If your organisation runs Active Directory and its groups and users meet your business needs, synchronising with Claromentis system groups makes perfect sense as it reduces maintenance and complexity. It saves you having to recreate users and structures within Claromentis and also means with regular synchronisations - user data will be kept in line with the latest most up to date information stored in AD.

2 - Making changes to a users information

Example scenario: A user would like to change their last name.

If you were to change this information in AD - the next time a sync runs, it will look to pair this new name with an existing user of the same name, searching and not finding an existing user in Claromentis to update will mean the system creates a new user with this name and blocks the original user. Instead, the user in AD will need updating as well as the user in Claromentis so their names and usernames match prior to the sync being run.

This is explained visually here: 

If you have made the change the incorrect way, you will need to delete the newly created user in Claromentis, find the original user in the blocked list, unblock them and change their details to match the AD user. You can then re-run the sync.

3- Deleting or blocking a user

To delete or block a user, you will need to firstly delete them in AD. The next time a sync is run, the user in Claromentis will be blocked. You can then manually delete the user in Claromentis, when doing so the system will ask you to assign their data, or any ownership of documents/folders to another individual.

If you delete or block the user in Claromentis, you will find them activated again when the next sync is run as active directory will have pulled them across.

This is explained visually here: 

Please note, blocked or deleted profiles do not contribute to your user license count.

4- Where to find blocked users

You will need to navigate to Applications > Admin > People

Using the filter drop down you will need to select 'All including blocked':

 

Created on 9 October 2019 by Millie Hand. Last modified on 14 October 2019

Was this helpful?  

0 Likes
Share